Skip breadcrumb navigation Skip Navigation Links Home > Advocacy > Public Policy Committee

Society of Hospital Medicine Public Policy Committee

The Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM) and its Public Policy Committee work with the government to improve the care of hospitalized patients by making policy statements and position recommendations to the SHM Board. The committee also recommends potential issues for study and review as well as processes for developing public policy.

2014-2015 Public Policy Committee

Ronald Greeno, MD, FCCP, MHM
Cogent HMG
Los Angeles, California

Deepak Asudani, MD, MPH, FHM
UCSD Hospital Medicine
San Diego, California

Lauren Doctoroff, MD, FHM
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Boston, Massachusetts

Suparna Dutta, MD
Rush University Medical Center
Riverside, Illinois

Bradley Flansbaum, DO, MPH, SFHM
Lenox Hill Hospital
New York, New York

Scott Gottlieb, MD
American Enterprise Institute and
NYU School of Medicine
New York, New York

Mangla Gulati, MD, FHM
University of Maryland Medical System
Highland, Maryland

W. Mark Hamm, MBA
Dallas, Texas

Rick Hilger, MD, SFHM
Regions Hospital
Saint Paul, Minnesota

Melinda Johnson, MD, FHM
University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
Iowa City, Iowa

Ajay Kumar, MD
Hartford Hospital
Hartford, Connecticut

Joshua Lenchus, DO, FACP, RPh
University of Miami Hospital Medicine
Davie, Florida

James Levy, PA-C, FHM
Hospitalists of Northern Michigan
Traverse City, Michigan

Robert Lineberger, MD, FHM
Duke Regional Hospital
Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Kirk Mathews
Pacific, Missouri

Ann Sheehy, MD, MS
University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics
Madison, Wisconsin

Patrick Torcson, MD, MMM, FACP, SFHM
St. Tammany Parish Hospital
Covington, Louisiana

Kerry Weiner, MD
IPC- The Hospitalist Company
North Hollywood, California

Joshua Boswell, JD
Staff Liaison
Sr. Manager Government Relations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

For more information about all of SHM's committees, visit